

Resolution 3 (2017) - ATCM XL - CEP XX, Beijing

Revised Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions

The Representatives;

Recalling Article 3 of Annex V to the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty which provides for the designation of Antarctic Specially Protected Areas;

Recalling that paragraph 2 of Article 3 of Annex V states that Parties shall seek to identify such areas "within a systematic environmental-geographical framework";

Recalling also that the preamble to Resolution 6 (2012) welcomed "the classification of the ice-free areas of the Antarctic continent and close lying islands within the Antarctic Treaty area into 15 biologically distinct Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions";

Welcoming the advice of the Committee for Environmental Protection that the Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions should be updated to reflect the most recent analyses of the spatial distribution of Antarctic terrestrial biodiversity, including the identification of a 16th biologically distinct region;

Recommend to their Governments that:

- 1. the revised Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions annexed to this Resolution ("ACBRs Version 2") be used in conjunction with the Environmental Domains Analysis and other tools agreed within the Antarctic Treaty system to support activities relevant to the interests of the Parties, including as a dynamic model for the identification of areas that could be designated as Antarctic Specially Protected Areas within the systematic environmental-geographical framework referred to in paragraph 2 of Article 3 of Annex V to the Protocol on Environmental Protection to the Antarctic Treaty; and
- 2. the Antarctic Treaty Secretariat post the text of Resolution 6 (2012) on its website in a way that makes clear that it is no longer current.

Annex: Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions (Version 2

The use of quantitative analyses to combine spatially explicit Antarctic terrestrial biodiversity data with other relevant spatial frameworks has identified 16 biologically distinct ice-free regions encompassing the Antarctic continent and close-lying islands within the Antarctic Treaty area (see Table 1). A full description of the methods employed is presented in Terauds et al. (2012) and Terauds and Lee (2016). The Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions illustrated in Figure 1 represent the best classification of Antarctic terrestrial biodiversity based on currently available data and spatial layers.

The spatial data layer representing the regions is publicly available for download from the Australian Antarctic Data Centre: http://dx.doi.org/10.4225/15/5729930925224.



References

Terauds, A., Chown, S., Morgan, F., Peat, H., Watts, D., Keys, H., Convey, P. & Bergstrom, D. (2012) Conservation biogeography of the Antarctic. Diversity and Distributions, 22 May 2012, DOI: 10.1111/j.1472-4642.2012.00925.x.

Terauds, A. & Lee, J.R. (2016) Antarctic biogeography revisited: updating the Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions, Diversity and Distributions, 1–5, DOI:10.4225/15/5729930925224.

Table 1 - Descriptions of Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions

Region	Name	Area (km²)
1	North-east Antarctic Peninsula	1215
2	South Orkney Islands	160
3	North-west Antarctic Peninsula	5183
4	Central south Antarctic Peninsula	4962
5	Enderby Land	2188
6	Dronning Maud Land	5523
7	East Antarctica	1109
8	North Victoria Land	9431
9	South Victoria Land	10038
10	Transantarctic Mountains	18480
11	Ellsworth Mountains	2859
12	Marie Byrd Land	1128
13	Adelie Land	178
14	Ellsworth Land	217
15	South Antarctic Peninsula	2875
16	Prince Charles Mountains	5992

Figure 1 - Map of Antarctica showing the 16 Antarctic Conservation Biogeographic Regions

